LINK: M-I-C… See That Exit? K-E-Y… Why? Because You’re Fired!

Below is a link to my newest article for Forces Of Geek and editor Stefan Blitz.  I am taking a break from FOG for a few months, so please send me off by clicking on the link below.

Thanks!

***

 M-I-C… See That Exit? K-E-Y… Why? Because You’re Fired!

Mouseketeer Roll Call! 

Bobby!  
Annette!
Sharon! 
Lonnie!
Cubby!
Mary Danella Espinoza…?

* insert sound of record scratching here *

For three seasons, The Mickey Mouse Club entertained America’s youth five days a week with dances, songs, special guests and more. The Mousketeers were kids that everyone could relate to, kids that seemed unpretentious and nice, kids that were approachable if run into on the street. 

“Everyone who wants to keep their job next week smile on the count of three. 1-2-3!”

“Everyone who wants to keep their job next week smile on the count of three. 1-2-3!”

Back before the child performer factory of today that spits out a Zack and Cody or a Miley Cyrus with every turn of its gears, the Disney talent scouts held open auditions for a children’s variety show.

Kids (professionally-trained and those that only danced at family gatherings) were given an equal chance to become a Mouseketeer.

READ REST HERE

***

Categories: Shameless Plug | Tags: , , , , | 35 Comments

Post navigation

35 thoughts on “LINK: M-I-C… See That Exit? K-E-Y… Why? Because You’re Fired!

  1. Wasn’t there a MMC in the late 70s? I remember bright costumes and I think Blair from that show with Tootie on it.

  2. This was great. Thank you so much!

  3. An excellent and well reearched post.
    To which I left an extrememly inappropriate comment.
    hehehe.

  4. Interesting article and nice writing. Why are you taking a break?

  5. What a pedigree these adults can now look back on, I think? Great writing. Well done Calahan.

  6. I can’t believe Walt Disney fired that kid himself. I would have loved to be a fly on the wall during that meeting.

    • No kidding. Walt’s just lucky that kid didn’t punch him, too.

      “You’re firin’ me? Me?! Nobody fire’s me, I quit! Here’s my resignation, old man!” *punch to the gut*

  7. Awesome article! I didn’t know any of that! I will now rock at trivia on the Mouseketeers!

  8. I bet the kid used in his resume later “got fired by Walt Disney himself”

  9. Y? Because this is awesome.

  10. I like Paul Peterson’s moxie. Plucky little kid!
    Great story Calahan!

  11. Excellent back story about the MMC! My sister had a crush on Paul Peterson. Have a great Xmas. I’m not going to be online much.

  12. Great article. Funny, of course, but interesting and informative. I sound like a ready-made blurb.

    Thanks to my inherent credulity, my internal response to first reading that Annette Funnyjello funded the Viet Cong and then the retraction was: “OH MY GOD, I didn’t know that, I can’t believe….oh. Oh, yeah. I should have figured.” Thank you, though, and I mean this sincerely, because for a brief moment, I believed something that made my head want to explode. This is a rare and wondrous thing. Someday I’ll tell the story of the time I thought the devil was talking to me from my computer.

    • Ha. For a brief moment, someone thought about Annette in an angry way. I am all powerful!

      I know that the devil was not talking to you through your computer only because he has not had internet access for several months now. Verizon really sucks.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,161 other followers

