For M After 5 Years

Because writing poetry, as far as my own abilities go, ranks right up there with fixing a car, mental telepathy or even basic mathematics, I can only read and share the works of others.

The following is an excerpt from the poem, Having A Coke With You, by the insightful and tragic Frank O’Hara.

I look
at you and I would rather look at you than all the portraits in the world
except possibly for the Polish Rider occasionally and anyway it’s in the Frick
which thank heavens you haven’t gone to yet so we can go together the first time
and the fact that you move so beautifully more or less takes care of Futurism
just as at home I never think of the Nude Descending a Staircase or
at a rehearsal a single drawing of Leonardo or Michelangelo that used to wow me
and what good does all the research of the Impressionists do them
when they never got the right person to stand near the tree when the sun sank
or for that matter Marino Marini when he didn’t pick the rider as carefully
as the horse

it seems they were all cheated of some marvelous experience
which is not going to go wasted on me which is why I am telling you about it

I’m thankful for every minute of every day of the past 5 years with you. Your bottomless well of kindness, your undying support and your unpretentious intellect have been and will continue to be on the receiving end of my own appreciation, pride and awe. And kisses.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 48 Comments

Post navigation

48 thoughts on “For M After 5 Years

  1. Awwwwwww!!!! Happy anniversary to you and M—-she’s gorgeous!

    • Thanks, Weebs. I’d show her your comment, but she would only roll her eyes like she’s doing in the third picture.

  2. This is gorge – happy many many mores..

  3. This is absolutely adorable. Happy anniversary to you two!!!

  4. Happy anniversary! 5 Years – crazy! :)

    • The first year was crazy. Thanks to medication, the last four have merely been happy, quiet and overall free of psychotic episodes. Woo hoo!

  5. That’s lovely verse to illustrate just how much your mate rocks Mike. Happy anniversary!

  6. Happy 5 years!! She is gawwwwjus!

  7. Anyone that can inspire The Calahan is a wonderful woman indeed.
    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!

  8. This is so sweet! Happy Anniversary!! Here’s to so many many more

  9. One of the best things I ever did was introduce you two. What a sweet post, Mikey! Public displays of mushiness are ok in your older age I see (that makes me happy).

    Congratulations on five years of marriage to two of my favorite people on earth. Love you both! xo

  10. I’m the luckiest. Happy Anniversary to the best husband a girl could ever hope to have. Love you!

    • Donna D.

      What a sweet, romantic, and wonderful guy you are, Mike. I’m so glad you married my daughter!!
      Happy 5th Anniversary, and at least 50 more to come. xoxoxoxoxoxo

      • Truth be told, I was convinced your family had a secret fortune. All of that Nazi gold and stolen art, that plays to my grifter side.

    • Ah, lets get it out there – you’re both mushy and deserve each other. Lets keep this stuff going for the next 60 years!!?? So glad you found each other – thanks sizzle

  11. springfieldfem

    OH MY WORD! Happy Anniversary! She is very luck to have you in her life, you big, smooshy teddy bear (also, she is a knock out! meow!) Love to you both!

  12. Oh my God, warn a girl, willya! I could have had the kleenex on standby ;-)

  13. Yep. She’s pretty! Now I can hit on you both! Yay!

  14. Happy Anniversary and major kudos for sharing a bit of Frank O’Hara, a major hero.

    • Frank O’Hara is so great. Ever read Gregory Corso?

      • I have and I like him, though I have more enthusiasm for O’Hara, and Kenneth Koch, as far as poets of that era go. Now that you’ve mentioned it, I’ll dig a little deeper and check out more of Corso’s work.

        • I’ve only read one thing by Kenneth Koch, but I’ll look around for more. His poem was part of an anthology of mid-century poets, but he was represented by just the one poem.

  15. That’s really lovely, man. Gratitude, appreciating the wonderful things in your life, is a very attractive quality in a person, I think.

  16. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!!! Go Mikey! The qualities you both share makes a great recipe for a long marriage.

  17. Lucky M, lucky you, lovely, lovely post. =)

  18. Aw, this is a lovely tribute. She’s a beaut! Hope you had a nice anniversary.

  19. i’m curious about what you’ve been putting in her coffee for all these years in order to keep that relationship as strong as it can possibly be.

Say What?

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,513 other followers

