LINK: Disney Peripherals

Below is the link to a new article of mine for Forces Of Geek. It gets more interestingd after the link, trust me.

Disney Peripherals

Disney does many things well, like family-friendly movies, theme parks that attract millions of people and reminding us that magic can be a real possibility. 

They also do a few things with what must be regarded as an unparalleled finesse and expertise.

Such things include global media domination, turning moderately talented 13-year olds into pop sensations and tapping the unlimited well of character merchandising. 

Characters that haven’t been animated in over 50 years still retain a fan base and marketing potential.

Cinderella and Snow White are just a few of Disney’s character elite that have seen a resurgence in popularity, especially with young girls. This is in no small way the result of Disney’s marketing of the Princess line.

“Role models? You betcha! We’ve all got unique qualities that make us strong, female characters. Examples? Well, we can’t think of any off-hand, but we’ll totally get back to you.”

The Disney Princesses campaign highlights some of movies’ most cherished princesses, portraying them on equal footing, all the while celebrating their individual appeal….

READ REST HERE

Categories: Shameless Plug | Tags: , , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “LINK: Disney Peripherals

  1. My standards are Disney based. Yikes. I’m pretty much moving to the magic kingdom soon.

    I forgot about that chipmunks one!

  2. I always loved Disney. Their princesses not just pretty and rich, they’re um….rescuable and stuff. And most of them talk to animals. Hallucinating is always good.
    Like you said, role models :)

    • Hallucinating or schizophrenic, it doesn’t matter because they’re pretty. Crazy and pretty is better than sane and plain. Am I right?

  3. The only Disney princess I have ever liked was Giselle in “Enchanted” — but they don’t seem to be pushing her. Go figure.

    • I’m not sure why they don’t, actually. She’s a great character. They could at least give her a costumed character to walk around the parks. Mary Poppins has one.

  4. Today I saw one of your banners for the first time—Bolshevik Longhairs Offend Gramps—and it made me laugh out loud.

    I love how you love Disney. Despite my generally crotchety nature, I too love Disney and the Happiest Place on Earth. But East-Coast Style; I’ve only been to Disneyland once, so my experiences have all been at WDW. I’m not a fan of the whole princess thing, though. I like everything *except* the princesses. I’m more a fan of the Evil Queen in Snow White. She has the most awesome widow’s peak.

    • Villains are always way cooler than the main characters. You’re right about that.

      I’ve never been to WDW, but would love to. They have a Davy Crockett campgrounds! I want to stay there.

      I’ve been to Disneyland more times than I can count, honestly. It doesn’t get old, though. It still retains some of the charm and magic it did when I went as a kid.

      • It really doesn’t get old. I would have thought that going to the Haunted Mansion or Pirates of the Caribbean a zillion times would have made me sick of it, but nope.

  5. Commented on the blog post itself. Awesome post! I didn’t know you wrote for another site. That’s really cool.

  6. Great read!

  7. Pingback: Things I suck at | Fear No Weebles

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,166 other followers